Monday, April 21, 2025

When did an editorial mistake become a crime?

Show us thy patriotism, thou who cast stones at Sin Chew for flag blunder

FOUR decades of journalism, I have made more typographical mistakes, graphic gaffes (including, yes, our flag, once!), wrong attributions, erroneous captions, and even factual errors than I would care to admit. As a reporter, I’ve made some and as an editor, I have let some slip pass and seen print.

Whenever a mistake in the newspaper was spotted, either by our own editorial team or by our dear readers, we would render an apology as soon as possible. Some newspapers had a permanent daily column to say sorry to the readers for the mistakes made the previous day or edition. One Bahasa Melayu newspaper still has an apology-column called “Ralat” (Regrets) dedicated to saying sorry.

The first reporting blunder I made implicated the late Abdul Aziz Rahman, who was Malaysia Airlines’ managing director. He had told a press conference at the Subang airport that the national carrier was going to spend “…four to five million ringgit” on advertisement.

I reported, and it was published The Business Times as a lead article the next day, that Malaysia Airlines was going to spend RM45 million on advertising. A staggering amount for ad budget in the mid-1980s. 

The sub-editor who vetted the apology I had to write for the following day’s edition rubbed it in nicely: “RM45 mil ain’t that bad. You could have reported it as RM425 million!”

The Tan Sri was not pleased, of course, but he was forgiving and we forged a closer rapport following that blunder of mine, even after he was asked to leave the airline to make way for privatization and its eventual decline.

Later in my career, having gone into blogging and the news portal business, I would tell students of journalism that the media, especially newspapers, were in the business of making mistakes. In our daily rush to report the truth and documenting history as it happens, we are bound to make mistakes.

This is true even with new media. Take away the the stress of editorial deadlines, marketing pressures, political intervention and despite the advantage of being able to make changes and updates at any time, online journalists still make mistakes.

Sin Chew, the Chinese-language newspaper with print circulation of over 200,000 copies daily, committed a big blunder when it published on its front page of the April 15 print edition a Malaysian flag with the crescent missing. The Malaysian flag was placed next to the flag of China to accompany an article on the historic visit of Chinese President Xi Jinping.

The crescent on the Jalur Gemilang represents Islam as the nation’s official religion. Sin Chew was condemned, by King and pauper alike. The Yang DiPertuan Agong said the mistake was “unacceptable”; the paupers wanted their pound of flesh.

The newspaper has since apologised, suspended two staff, and promised to be more vigilant. 

“This was an unintentional error made during the design process. We have amended the digital version and the same notice will be publishe in the print version. We apologise unreservedly to our readers, members of the Malaysian community, and the general public. We regret the error,” the management of the newspaper said in a statement published in three languages: the national language, English and Chinese.

Unfortunately, there are Malaysians who will not accept the apology. They accuse the journalists and editors of being unpatriotic. They demanded that the Home Ministry suspend Sin Chew’s license to publish. They want those responsible to be charged with sedition and jailed.

Since when did an editorial mistake become a crime?

I feel sad because one or two of these people who want my colleages to be charge with sedition and and sent to jail are people I’ve known professionally. One of two of them are known to us in the newsrooms as pros hired by clients to beg the goodwill of journalists and the media.

To err is human, to forgive divine. The King said the mistake Sin Chew made was “unacceptable”. And I agree. But the King did not say the apology was unacceptable.

Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim was timely with his comments. “Not small matter but don’t go overboard, says Anwar on flag issue.” [Some media headlined only half the PMX’s message, for example Anwar: Incomplete Jalur Gemilang issue no trival matter].

And so was Tokoh Wartawan Negara A. Kadir Jasin, in saying the Sin Chew issue should be dealt with by the Malaysian Media Council and not the cops. Read Isu Jalur Gemilang lebih sesuai diadilil Majlis Media bukan polis.

The police were at Sin Chew’s office until late Friday. “It’s stressul. Demoralising,” an editor of the newspaper told me.

“It was a mistake, it was really not intentional. But a mistake is a mistake. We must learn a hard lesson from this issue,” he added.

Sin Chew is not the only one who can do with the learning. Instead of casting stones at others, I suggest that we all show the flag our due respect by flying it at our work premise, in our home, at pubs and bars, on our motor vehicles. Display it all the time, not just during the Merdeka and Hari Malaysia month.

Notice how few of us did that last year?

Fly the Jalur Gemilang on our social media pages. Sin Chew will do well to lead by displaying the flag  next to its masthead, both print and online.

For young reporters and editors, do not overly worry about making mistakes. Journalists are human, too. Just do your best to uphold good journalism. Do your research. Check and double-check your facts. Avoid malice. Provide subjects their right to respond. Let your editors know what you’re up to. Let your reporters know what you’re up to. Protect your sources. Keep politicians at arm’s length. Don’t ask for and don’t accept bribes. 

Apologise unreservedly for any editorial mistake made. 

And know your friends. Forgive those who want you jailed over a mistake no journalist wants to be credited for. But, at the same time, be wary of them.

No comments:

Post a Comment