When quizzed why I wasn’t blogging as often as I used to, I’d quip: “Writer’s block, lah.” To be perfectly honest, it’s just an excuse, really. I procrastinate, as people in my profession generally do. But you’d be happy to know that in between the countless of drafts I had started but couldn’t finish,, I was actually busy helping start what will be Malaysia’s most influential news portal in the near future called SCOOP. Now that The News You Can Use is up and running, I can go back to blogging, scribing, posting, writing as regularly as I used to … and as I should. A reporter, after all, is only as good as his or her last byline. No more excuses! (I’m running out of them, anyway!)
So here’s the latest byline:
… At this juncture, Judge Sequerah interjected and said: "since the issue has been raised, I would just disclose to parties that the same individual (Jasmine Loo) and myself were partners formerly in a legal firm many years back, maybe 10 to 15 years ago. I thought I would just disclose (this) since her name has surfaced in the trial." - 1MDB: TRIAL JUDGE REVEALS HE ONCE WORKED WITH JASMINE LOO IN THE SAME FIRM
KL, 27 July: Judge Collin Sequerah’s admission that he and Jasmine Loo, the long-missing trusted aide of the long-gone fugitive Jho Lo, were once partners in a legal firm has raised fresh questions about the soundness of the 1MDB trial and our justice system. Or our (my) own understanding of what is just.
Nonetheless, lawyers representing the former Prime Minister Najib Razak say they may get Judge Sequerh to recuse himself. Political analyst Lim Sian See demands more. Sian See sees a mistrial.
“The judge only revealed his conflict of interest today after the 1MDB-Tanore case trial last five years. Jasmine Loo is the most important character in the 1MDB case and her name and role have been mentioned many times in this trial but the Judge has never disclosed his relationship with her.
“The Judge should be recused and release Najib from this case now with a mistrial decision because it is not fair for Najib to go through another 5 years of trial under another judge.” - Najib patut dilepaskan susulan pengakuan Hakim Sequerah - Sian Se
Maybe it’s not a conflict of interest. Maybe it’s ok for the Judge and the former fugitive to be partners because it took place many years ago, 10 or 15 years ago to be exact. Surely a trial Judge gets to set the rules, change the rules, use his discretion and impart his wisdom no matter how questionable they may seem?
I hope somebody will tell us. But one thing I can tell you is, whether you agree with him or not, Judge Sequerah’s style has provided some really good headlines. I thought I would just share this 2021 article about him getting his knickers in a knot at the same 1MDB trial, except this episode also involved the YDPA, ie our King.
ANGRY AT NAJIB’S NO-SHOW, JUDGE ORDERS HIM TO RETURN FOR TRIAL AFTER MEETING WITH AGONG
KUALA LUMPUR (Aug 19): Former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak angered High Court Judge Collin Lawrence Sequerah this morning after he did not show up for the 1Malaysia Development Bhd-Tanore (1MDB-Tanore) trial.
Najib’s counsel Rahmat Hazlan told the judge that his client had been summoned to the palace this morning, but Justice Sequerah was not happy to hear about Najib's absence.
“He and 114 other MPs have been summoned to the Palace to confirm their support for Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri. We are not sure what time my client is scheduled to meet the King, but he is leaving PWTC at 10.30am," said the lawyer.
An infuriated Justice Sequerah then replied that Najib should have come to court to inform the judge of his need to see the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.
“He should have had the courtesy to come here first. From the news report I have read, it said the meeting with the King would be in batches.
“This case is ongoing. I will be back in 10 minutes and I want to know exactly what time he will be meeting the King. After he's done with that, he has to be back here for the trial to continue. I may not even stop at 4pm today," Sequerah told the lawyer before standing down for a short break.
As per Covid-19 standard operating procedures (SOPs), the trial is supposed to end at 4pm.
After the break, Rahmat informed the judge that Najib was currently at PWTC with other UMNO MPs and would be leaving at 10.30am to see the King.
Cutting an irate figure, Sequerah had no choice but to adjourn the trial to 2.30pm and told the lawyer that he hoped his client would show up for the trial.
"I have to carry on with the case, come what may. We have lost too much time," said Justice Sequerah.
"I understand that he has to be there when the King summons him. But he does not have to be there the whole day," the judge added.
It was reported that the King had summoned some 114 MPs to the palace this morning to interview them on their choice for the next prime minister.
The trial continues at 2.30pm.
No comments:
Post a Comment