Monday, June 11, 2007

Kalimullah admits "It was incorrect"

Kalimullah's June 11 legacy.
Extracted, from court documents filed recently by Kalimullah Masheerul Hassan in his on-going suit against lawyer-author Matthias Chang:
“It was incorrect as I subsequently found out. And this issue was subsequently clarified in the New Straits Times.”
The NSTP former Group Editor-in-Chief and now Deputy Chairman/Editorial Adviser made this admission in response to an Interrogatory filed by the Defendant asking Kalimullah whether what he wrote in the June 11, 2006 article in the Sunday Times about the meeting between the Prime Minister and Dr Mahathir in Japan was correct.
[Please read the "incorrect" article, Sunday Column: And who, really, is demonising whom?]

READERS of this blog would remember that I have written quite a few times about the June 11 article. This article disturbed me as Kalimullah Masheerul Hassan's version of the events in Tokyo would make readers think of Dr Mahathir as ungrateful, vindictive and power-crazy. That is why I demanded time and again that Kalimullah corrected the "passages of untruth" - or lies, for short - in the article and apologised to Dr M and NST readers.

Till today, despite the repeated demands I made on this blog (which Kalimullah obviously read and probably still reads), neither the writer nor the newspaper has published an apology. I checked again with Dr Mahathir's aides and they do not agree that this issue has subsequently been clarified in the NST.

I hope with Kalimullah Masheerul Hassan's admission in the above-mentioned court documents, this long-standing issue can be clarified once and for all by/in the NST, and an apology profferred to Dr Mahathir and all readers of the newspaper.

25 comments:

1. Anonymous6:25 am

What has taken him so long to admit the truth?

2. Anonymous7:34 am

The way i see it , the term 'incorrect' is used when the mistake is unintentional. Something that is not planned.
    But in kali's case , it was all preplanned with a malicious purpose to do something which , he knew to be untruse. Such actions would be termed 'LYING'

THEREFORE, KALI LIED AND HE IS A L1AR !!!! period.

He owes the readers and especially TM an apolgy.

Incidently, surely badawi would knew whether TM did meet him or not? And surely he MUST know what Kali has pulished are nothing but lies! Therefore , if the PM knew certain news to be lies, why didnt he speak up ????

He was very quick to deny and brand other news to be rumours or lies. But what happen to his marriage .

( ...am walking away and shaking my head in disbelief...)

3. Anonymous10:06 am

what has taken him so long, bayi?

he will take more time. remember, he has not apologise as i cant remember there is any 'i-am-so-sorry' thing...

hahhaha... the thing with people practising Lee Kuan Yew style of apology is that everybody can avoid being feel guilty.

and that show a lot on their lack of accountability.

or they just haven't got the balls to admit there are mistakes?

4. Bro,

the apology ain't coming, that's for sure.

take care

5. Anonymous10:34 am

( ...am walking away and shaking my head in disbelief...)
    and will bring up the matter in next 'mesyuarat agong'

6. Anonymous10:51 am

haha..kali..got caught by his own lies.
    If not for the court case, he will not admit.

7. Anonymous11:09 am

He was given the name Kaliarmullah ....
    What else can u all expect from him.
    Peace!

8. Anonymous11:27 am

yea, dont blame us readers for switching to other newspapers. no doubt others hv their own spinners but there's only one master spinner.

yes master, you know who you are. yes you, liar.

9. Anonymous3:31 pm

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

10. Anonymous4:07 pm

Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word

11. Anonymous4:09 pm

http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/WO0706/S00156.htm

12. anon 3.31pm,
    i'd love to let others read your comments man but i have an on-going court case [kalimullah and nst and several others are suing me for defamation] so i've been told i shouldnt discuss the merits of the case, etc. etc.
    but i appreciate your opinion of them. tq.

13. Anonymous6:32 pm

Hey bro, it's exactly one year on the dot re Kali's June 11 article and today you've got an extract which the liar himself admitted that "It was incorrect as I subsequently found out."

What does it tell you? It takes about a year for a liar to realize his misdeed.

Maybe it was really prophetic when that someone promised, "It will be all over in about a year's time."

I shall wait and see. ;-)

14. Anonymous7:37 pm

Bro.

PAK LAH use to say to me. DURING ANWAR IN POWER,

"I WORK FOR THE TRUE,CUZ TRUE DOESN'T HURT ME,I LIKE THE TRUE..

BUT NOW..

HILANG PERTIMBANGANNYA SEBAGAI SEORANG PERDANA MENTERI..

SAD BUT TRUE

15. Anonymous7:50 pm

It would be interesting if NST produces proof that it had, as its Deputy Chairman and Editorial Adviser ascertained, "subsequently clarified the issue".

I don't seem to be able to find anyone who can recall that the NST had "subsequently clarified the issue".

Did we all miss it?

Or is someone lying again?

16. Anonymous8:49 pm

He thinks that he can fool people at all times. But he forgets that he cannot fool God.

17. This person Kalimullah ill befits the name that he carries if translated from Arabic.

This person has no integrity whatsoever if he is unwilling to extend his apology to the various parties involved after having acknowledged his mistake.

A person such as this is is one who is full of arrogance and pride and such a person is not wise and certainly not deserving of respect.

http://www.asrulzamani.blogspot.com/

18. Anonymous11:27 pm

Blame not kali alone
    But one who made him NST editor.
    Kali was harmless
    Mostly a jester.
    But when PM gave him power
    He became the lord and master.
    Moslty he was a liar
    A media monster.
    So don't just blame Kali
    It was Pak Lah who gave him the key
    To the house of power
    Where he rules like a dictator
    But mostly he was a liar
    A little bit like his master.

19. Anonymous12:38 am

clarified the issue? got proof or not? talk is cheap lo, now can cut and paste some more

I agree apology surely not coming..

20. http://thepoetryofmurder.blogspot.com/2007/06/blogophobia.html

My views on the NAB & political satire, not to be taken too seriously though. all the best.

-Jeremy A.

21. The World is full of shit
    Of politics and its game
    Of cronyism and balls carrying

When mistake is made
    They pretend they never hear
    About what they say or write

When questions are asked
    “Oh it is just rumour
    This is the first time I heard it”

Then the egg hatches
    People walk shaking their heads
    Why don’t they tell the truth?
    Is it so hard to say?

It is said when you are on the top
    It is so hard to say “I am sorry”
    Know we know

22. Anonymous12:35 pm

Dear Rocky!

I am simply taking this opportunity while this thread is still current to state that to date YABhg Tun Dr Mahathir bin Mohamad has not received any apologies from the New Straits Times or the writer.

This is despite the fact that the writer had made allegations which were baseless towards Dr Mahathir.

I must also state that in my original letter to the NS (published in the letters to editor page) I had not specifically asked for an apology.

Whether it is morally right or wrong for the writer to apologise, I leave it to this blog readers/NST readers and the general public to come up with their own verdict.

I would just like to quote this paragraph from the writer's Sunday Column, entitled "Rumour and the Ugly Malaysian", published in the New Sunday Times of Sunday Aug 7, 2005;

"This is a country that has a large share of people ready to believe in anything, and this is a country where there is a larger proportion than norm of people who take delight in spreading vile rumours and slander."

Best Regards,

Sufi Yusoff

23. kalimullah is supposedly mean "the words of Allah". now the bearer of the name is a liar. talk about not deserving the name. or should i say, insulting his own name. from what i've seen so far, there's no way he's going to apologize. another series of lawsuits would be fun to see. i could use a few laugh from them haha.

24. Rocky,
    I would consider this a 'stand-alone 'post and it is in no way linked to that defamatory suit with the NST + 4 others.

Readers comments here, though caustic, do not deviate from the issue at hand, that is, the NST story on June 11 2006, was plucked out of a magicians hat.
    The writer's credibility is based on this story and has no relevance to his suit against you.

25. Anonymous4:51 pm

A birdie said Tiap tiap kali now write speeches for Uncle-Lah!! No wonder.....