Thursday, April 05, 2007

National Alliance of Bloggers set up

update April 7. I missed out Elizabeth Wong from the council members' list. My apologies.

Original posting

Pro-tem committee:

President - Ahirudin Attan, Vice President - Jeff Ooi, Secretary - Nuraina A. Samad, Treasurer - Tony Yew, Council Members: Patrick Teoh, Bernard Khoo, Syed Azidi Syed Abdul Aziz, Syed Jamal al-Idrus, Rajahram Ramalingam, Annuratha K, Emy Husni, and Soon Li Tsin

Some 50 bloggers turned up for this. Those who spoke included Raja Petra Kamaruddin, Ruhanie Ahmad, Zaharin Yassin, Jeff Ooi, Syed Azidi aka Kickdefella, Susan Loone, Annuratha, Eric Woon, and Patrick Teoh. The pro-tem committee will meet soon to draw up the Constitution, identify sources of funding, and submit the necessary papers for the Registrar of Societies. The initial address for the Alliance is the office of Malaysiakini, the on-line news portal. Tea was subsidized by a Datuk blogger.

Click here for m-Star's report.

53 comments:

1. Grear initiative, Rocky and co. Couldn't be done in a better manner. Hope all bloggers will be aware of this great but humble set-up.

2. June just told me about this. I should have been there.... damn!

3. Anonymous1:20 am

Tahniah!
    Syabas!
    Kudos!
    Perjuangan mu belum selesai!

4. Anonymous1:22 am

congrats to all the committee members.

what about others? can they join?

yep i'm going to blog about this to let people know its existence.

5. A great start to national blogger unity. Hope the government doesn't get their way with blogger registration act. Hope the political or "serious" bloggers will count the rest of the online community as part of the clan eg food and entertainment blogs, IT blogs, lifestyle blogs, etc.

6. Bro…I really hope our association can become a place for all bloggers to come and have a number of brain storming session, not only pertaining to political issues but other issues as well. It might help in providing reliable and resourceful stories but at the same time it will become a centre of training for bloggers (as you had mentioned in your welcoming speech yesterday).

BLOGGERS, UNITE!!

7. congrats. i also want to join.

8. Anonymous9:26 am

This is as muhibbah as we can get, a real mixture of personalities of all races.

We are one.

9. Congrats! I hope good stuff comes out from this union.

10. To me, blogging is a healthy hobby and a healthy therapy. To others, blogging may provide them the means to relay information (sometimes quicker than CNN news), share stories and photos and even just to nag and yack about what's going on and going wrong with their lives.

"Everyone's in it, so why not me?" is probably the question that goes into someone's head, when he or she starts to embark on blogging. As for myself, I was inspired to blog after seeing my sister blogged. Now, her blog is no longer bloggible (accessible) after she quits due to time constraints. By my blog still exists, with a mixed of entries from personal stories to current issues of interests.

11. Congratulation. Indeed April 5, 2007, a historic day in our history. Now move forward with pride. Have a nice Day.

12. congrats.
    how to join the club? im a responsible blogger too! kekekee

13. Congratulation to All office bearers and those who attended the historic meeting.

Long Live Blogger!!!

14. Hmm..kudos to all..maybe this is just a beginning of bigger things to come..at least we know that when our complaints/grouses are ignored by the so called wakil rakyat, we will have our trusted bloggers to send the message across..you guys/gals are our online wakil rakyat..

15. Anonymous11:43 am

Hi Rockybru

I used to wonder what could bring the races together as ONE people. Was it ONE language, ONE culture or ONE school system?

Never did I imagine it is the one and only one internet, and it is ... the blogging community.

Whenever I become despondent and negative, I am reminded that we must live with hope because we must bring hope to those who will live in the future. I am reminded again and again of these sayings:
    • A blessing in disguise
    • Every cloud has a silver lining

For all bloggers with conscience I wish to say
    • May the force be with you
    • May you resist the temptation of the One Ring

Our conscience is in a constant struggle between good and evil, but if we live because we love others, we care for others – our families, posterity and humanity, I believe the good in us will give us the force to resist the evil ring of greed and selfishness.

I’m not feeling well. At first I felt unwilling to go, and felt it was unfair for me to go so soon, but I have changed my stance. If you don’t me see writing here anymore, it does not mean I’m not here. My spirit will be right here reading, sharing your burden and celebrating your success because I know that you will not stop fighting for the people I love.

16. Anonymous12:56 pm

I love my country.
    But I hate the government that tries each and everyday to brainwash the people into thinking that what they're doing is right.

I am in full support of you.

It brings me to tears to know that finally, someone is there to speak the truth on behalf, and for the people.

The people need to know. And that's all there is.

Malaysian Politicians ARE COWARDS. This is what happens when you corner a dog.

The dog will bite back.

And if you succeed, what a bad bite it will be.

17. Dignity,
    It is small initiatives like these and of course, Raja Nazrin's speech on Monday which gives us hopes and dreams(not Bedol's ZZZ dream). The 'Good in us' are responding and resisting bigotry and divisionary policies of certain coalition.

18. tahniah dan semoga usaha ini memberikan kebaikan kepada negara tercinta. saya turut sama menyatakan sokongan kepada usaha yang baik ini.

19. Anonymous3:07 pm

Congratulations Rocky and all Exco members!!

All bloggers and readers should be proud of the Alliance. The composition of the Exco has demonstrated that it has no racial bias at all - it is truly Malaysian!

And the fact that it is established in such a short time showed its dynamism, its seriousness in protecting the rights of bloggers and indirectly all human rights, and that it is capable of walking the talk - i.e BIKIN SERUPA CAKAP - TAHNIAH!!

Btw - good acronym too - NAB - ya let's NAB all wrongdoers!! Corrupt guys and gals - BE AFRAID...BE VERY AFRAID.....

20. congratt..Bro Rocky

All the best...

21. En. rocky macam mane nak join the Alliance?.

22. tahniah dan semoga ia bakal membawa kebaikan untuk semua bloggers. gua harap ia akan menjadi satu bukti bahawa apa yang kita lakukan ini bukan sekadar suka-suka dan ia juga adalah satu hak yang tidak boleh dipermainkan. ia datang dari hati dan minda yang mahu meluahkan sesuatu. ini sahaja tempat yang masih lagi tinggal kepada rakyat biasa meluahkan perasaannya, tidak kisah mengenai "semut" atau pun bercerita tentang "gajah".

23. Anonymous5:42 pm

Well done!
    Congrats to all.

24. congrats Mr President !
    Congrats to all. Best Wishes.

25. Anonymous8:33 pm

Rock on NAB!

26. Wish you the best.

27. Earlier in the day, I watched Riz Khan interviewing Yusuf Islam (once known as Cat Stevens ) and they talked of his cover of The Animals' "Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood", among other things.

And I just watched the 8-minute video on malaysiakini where Rocky talked of bloggers being misunderstood, among other things.

Can you guys see where I am going with this? Yes, Can I suggest that this song or at least a snatch of it be made the anthem of the Alliance.

But I'm just a soul whose intentions are good
    Oh Lord, please don't let me be misunderstood
    Baby, sometimes I'm so carefree
    With a joy that's hard to hide
    And sometimes it seems that all I have do is worry
    Then you're bound to see my other side
    But I'm just a soul whose intentions are good
    Oh Lord, please don't let me be misunderstood

To hear a sampling of yusuf's rendition, go to:
    http://tinyurl.com/3chfkh

Nice!
    Just a suggestion.

Let me end by wishing the Alliance all the best .

28. Anonymous2:05 am

This is a good move indeed as it will formalise the blogging movement in Malaysia and accord it the structure and mechanism of a serious and credible public platform (of information) - a kind of off-shore media whether it is upstream or downstream!

Implicit or explicit in the mission and objectives of this body must be the upholding of the principles of freedom of speech with responsibility; the articulation of views and opinions with facts or sound argumentation; the expression of ideas in a coherent, acceptable linguistic form; the search for "human or societal truth" based on the principles of GOD'S TRUTH.

If your members are honest, sincere, pure of heart, morally upright, Insya Allah your movement will achieve the recognition it deserves. If you manage to sow the seeds of integrity among Malaysians, especially the young yours will indeed be a worthy cause!

Your leaders have an arduous task ahead and must certainly walk their talk! The responsiblity is great!

29. Now that NAB is up and NOT running away from the powers that be, I wonder how they will spin the idea of registering bloggers.

The fact that NAB was established on the very same day the registration statement was made must have got some level four panties thoroughly twisted.

Let's hope it's not streaked too.

30. Hey OFF, pls let me present yr 2nd para to the first exco meeting next week.
    And, Kerinchiguy, Yusof's cover of Burdon's original is fab.
    one person, is not quite happy with the setting up of the alliance. he is pasquale. he has accused me of fixing the outcome of the appointment of the pro-tem committee members. he calls me a friend but i don't know him. 3540 jalan sudin was asked by mat rempit hubris about this alleged fixing.

to the rest of you, thank you for the well wishes.

31. Anonymous3:42 am

ALAMAK! Posted my reply on your other posting. Sorry for confusing your readers OK.

32. Anonymous6:28 am

I am against the government action to try control the blogging society.It would be an excersice in futility.This is a case of few bad apples in the basket.

On the other hand, some bloggers brought it on to themselves. Quite recently, a blog(not this one) boasted of 50 million hits a month, which is astounding for a country with not more than 25 million people.If the figure given was true than one can assume that Malaysians, generally, has a malady for malicious rumors, profanities, and slander as can be seen in the incandiery responses from readers of the blog. Such irresponsible postings can rile up the masses. Racial slur and profanities are common language on this particular blog.If you are the government wouldn't you be worried with this kind of blogging ?

The so called harmony and tolerance in this country has a weak breaking point and our politicians knew it because it was created by them in the first place.

Guess you nice guys better take out the bad ones by not linking your blog with them and vice versa.

33. Dear Rocky,

Pasquale DID NOT mention any names. For what its worth, i never thought it was you.

Anyway, sorry for causing any confusion.

34. Thank God there's people like you all in Bolehland ! Not those bozos i.e. tengku celup !

35. nationalallianceofbloggers@gmail.com

email to keep yourself listed on the outcome and further details.

(this is just the beginning, and we would like to keep you in the loop of things to come)

alliedmartster

36. Hubris, thank you.
    Pasquale is right on one point - that I did not "whisper" to anyone at the bloggers' meeting to nominate him. I can't "whisper" to someone I do not know. Many people thought I knew who Pasquale was. I don't. Does he want people to know who he is? I don't know.

By the way, Mat Rempit, I think Old Female Fart is looking for you! She left a comment under my later posting "In search of a missing boy" ...

37. Bro Rocky,

Thank you very much.

38. hi rocky,

nab rocks!

and, as posted at kuda-kepang;

alhamdulillah.
    tahniah di atas penubuhan nab.

a. kami harap nab jadi 'watch-dog' bagi kepentingan serta kesejahteraan bloggers dan rakyat jelata sekalian.

b. barangkali tak berlebihan untuk kami berharap juga agar nab dapat memancarkan definisi sebenar (dan sekaligus mengambil alih fungsi) 'the 4th estate ' di negara kita.

tahniah kepada semua yang mengilhamkan, menerajui, atau menyokong nab. insya-Allah kami akan beri sokongan yang wajar.

tahniah kepada semua bloggers malaysia yang sedar akan tanggungjawab masing-masing.

tahniah kepada malaysia.

ws

39. For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.

You, Rocky, and the NAB would have to tread carefully in the following months of the formation of the alliance.

Naysayers will always be there, but as long as the intention and execution is pure and truthful and smart and doesn't divert from its original goal, it should be all right. There will be no real ammunition to be used against you guys and the pro-tem committee.

Thinkl you guys have done all right for now. And in no way emulating DAP politicians.

Anyway, cheers and good luck.

40. Thank you Amir. We shall tread carefully. Not to worry, we will not emulate DAP politicians. The Alliance will be apolitical. We will not emulate Umno politicians, either.

41. You guys are doing a great job standing up to Big Brother. There may be hope yet for freedom of speech in Malaysia. All the best!

42. Not emulate UMNO poiticians? You mean, you won't be kissing the keris?

Awwwww. I was looking forward to that.

43. Anonymous2:35 pm

Curiously Rocky- with the government now asking that all bloggers be registered, isn't this just another way to do just that? I'm assuming that if your member list gets out- effectively it means giving the government all the names of the bloggers.

Also, what about those unknown bloggers who use pseudonyms? How can they join?

44. Anonymous2:54 pm

congrats. finally Malaysian blogger have own alliance.here some link site that report on that NAB.

here a snap report news from msnbc -> http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17987324/

also at

neowinet -> http://www.neowin.net/index.php?act=view&id=39308

45. Anon(2.35pm),

Your point has validity and relevance.

I presume the NAB exco will handle the issue of membership terms and conditions, among other matters, as soon as possible.

Since NAB is a fee-based grouping with every intention of getting registered via the ROS, identity declaration will become mandatory. However, there is a key factor here which must be emphasized i.e. the choice to declare is yours and yours alone. It is voluntary.

You may wish to remain anonymous and/or use a pseudonym to blog and/or comment, in which case, the Bloggers United movement is there for this purpose.

I understand it is also NAB's purpose and responsibility to ensure that a person's freedom of choice to declare, register, etc is protected in accordance with the Federal Constitution as compared to the government's approach of requiring bloggers to register using legislative means.

46. Let me know if you need (or would like) any help in spreading your word about the cencorship taking place. No one should have to register to speak their mind.

Everything may be made to look political. No? I like peanut butter cookies. I buy a cookbook. There are no recipes for peanut butter cookies. Peanut butter cookies happen to be the favorite of the dictator of whatever country. All of a sudden, it is a political statement not to include peanut butter cookies! See?

Great start. Now follow it through and let me know. I'll do what I can to help.

47. Anonymous9:00 pm

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/04/09/technology/09blog.html?th=&adxnnl=1&emc=th&adxnnlx=1176122593-MmFPWWYthnYyn7nxFGrMEQ

This is a link to an article from the New York Times of 9 April 2007 that discusses proposals to develop a blogger code of conduct/guidelines to "bersihkan" and improve the quality of online discourse. For information.

48. Anonymous12:45 pm

A belated congrats Rocky, and to all at Bloggers United Malaysia for the launch of NAB!

Although I suppose congratulations for things like these are never too late. I reckon it was a good beginning, and all the best for the future.

rod

49. bros and sis

congrats! do it for malaysia! proud to be malaysian bloggers!

lo

50. Anonymous10:41 am

hi there.Any updates on the National Alliance of Bloggers? What's going on? How do we find out more about this alliance? the developments etc?

51. pls link with me as well...

http://hiduppekerja.blogspot.com

http://malaysiareviews.blogspot.com

tq...