Friday, January 23, 2026

The fight against corruption: Surat kuning and Article 34 (3)

If you abuse your power, misappropriate public funds, accept bribes or conspire to protect corruption, you are traitors to the country. - Sultan Ibrahim Iskandar
The King’s message on corruption at Parliament earlier this week is probably the strongest yet on the malaise but still short of  “epic”, says Chegubard, the political activist widely credited for helping expose the latest big corruption (From police report to charges: Chronology of senior Malaysian Armed Forces corruption cases).

In an open letter to Sultan Ibrahim Iskandar, the 17th Yang Dipertuan Agong, Chegubard said epic is if the King orders civil servants throughout the country to ignore any form of surat kuning in the award of government contracts and projects. 

“Make all adhere to the process and win on merit,” Chegubard wrote.

Chegubard, whose real name is Badrul Hisham Shaharin, 47, made two more requests to the King: make the MACC answerable directly to Parliament and give precedence to Article 34 (3) of the Constitution, which specifies that the King shall not be actively involved in commercial enterprises.

Excerpts from Chegubard’s Facebook open letter to the Agong:

Hamba patik juga merafak sembah, agar dalam kesempatan ini supaya bertitah supaya semua penjawat awam seluruh negara agar menghentikan atau abaikan tekanan amalan konon ada surat kuning dibelakang apa juga keputusan. Semua wajib ikut proses dan kelayakan. Jika DYMM Tuanku bertitah tidak ada lagi surat kuning dalam melobi projek atau kontrak maka itu tindakan berani dan dikenang rakyat. 

Ia satu keberanian yang boleh di katakan epik. 

Satu perkara lagi Tuanku, mungkin Tuanku boleh gunakan kedudukan Tuanku agar mendesak kerajaan meletakkan SPRM dibawah kuasa parlimen atau melapor terus kepada parlimen bagi memperkukuhkan kuasa dan membebaskan SPRM dari dikawal individu atau kelompok. 

Ampun Tuanku. 

Dalam kesempatan ini juga hamba patik mengingatkan diri ini bahawa Raja Raja Melayu ialah institusi penting dalam negara dan ia wajib dipertahankan kesucian dan kehormatannya. Sistem Raja Berpelembagaan ini menjadi tanggungjawab semua mengukuhkan kedaulatannya.

Menurut Perkara 34 (3) Perlembagaan Persekutuan dinyatakan bahawa “Yang di-Pertuan Agong tidak boleh melibatkan diri secara aktif dalam apa-apa perusahaan komersial”.

Opening the first meeting of the 5th Session of the 15th Parliament on Tuesday, the Yang DiPertuan Agong urged the people to be “the eyes and ears of the nation and report all forms of corruption”. Corruption, he said, must be fought on a massive scale. Those guilty of corruption and those who protect corruption are “traitors to the country”. 

As the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces, the YDPA was utterly disappointed with the corruption involving high-ranking officials in the army. Agaknya lepas ini Sarjan saja dilantik jadi PAT”: Agong kecewa kes rasuah dalam ATM).

Sultan Ibrahim isn’t the only Ruler alarmed by the number of corruption cases that the MACC has unearthed in recent times. In the past week or so, three of Sultan Ibrahim’s  brother Rulers have made equally strong remarks on corruption. 

Raja Nazrin of Perak, in warning against obsession with wealth, status and power,, observed that “society is increasingly ensnared by the pursuit of outward success, often at the expense of moral integrity, spiritual purity, manners, and religious obligations”.

Tuanku Muhriz, the Yang di-Pertuan of Negeri, was shocked by public support for convicted corruption officials. . “(It) reflects not only a failure to grasp the destructive impact of corruption on institutional integrity and society’s moral foundations, but also calls for serious reflection on one’s faith, principles and values.”

Sultan Sharafuddin, lashing out at a large-scale pig farming in Malay/Muslim-majority areas in his state Selangor, wondered aloud if the project served the interests of certain groups of politicians and businessmen, even alluded to “possible elements of corruption, conflict of interest, or governance lapses in the project’s planning and approval process”.

Thursday, January 22, 2026

Next time anyone’s unhappy with what a journalist writes, just pay someone to beat up the journalist

On Nov 25 last year, Haresh Deol, a journalist, was beaten up in broad daylight by three individuals. The incident sent a chill down our spine. When people start physically attacking journalists to silence them, something is rotten in our democracy. Even PM Anwar Ibrahim condemned the attack on Haresh. 

The police made one swift arrest (which was gread) but one senior cop made a queer remark that the attack was “personal”. That cop never repeated it but neither did he back up his theory or speculation with credible evidence. 

Today, after nearly two months, a magistrate sentenced the one culprit the police nabbed to a RM2000 fine. No jail. The other two suspects were never brought to justice.

The message, if you ask me, is clearly this: If you’re not happy with what a journalist write, dont bother trying to give your side of the story or engage a PR to set the record straight. Just hire some goons to beat up the journalist, take a video of the attack, make it seem like it was a mistaken identity. The life of a journalist is that cheap.

Man fined RM2,000 for assaulting sports journo in Bangsar

R Krishnan previously pleaded guilty to attacking sports journalist Haresh Deol in Bangsar on Nov 25 last year.
R Krishnan
R Krishnan was charged under Section 323 of the Penal Code with voluntarily causing hurt, which carries a jail term of up to one year, a fine of up to RM2,000 or both upon conviction.
KUALA LUMPUR:
 A 37-year-old man was fined RM2,000 by the magistrates’ court here today for attacking sports journalist Haresh Deol in Bangsar last November.

Magistrate Aina Azahra Arifin handed down the sentence on R Krishnan, who pleaded guilty on Nov 28 to charges of assaulting Haresh.

Krishnan, along with an unnamed suspect still at large, committed the offence outside the Tanjung Balai Group premises at Jalan Telawi 3 on Nov 25.

The charge was framed under Section 323 of the Penal Code for voluntarily causing hurt, which carries a jail term of up to one year, a fine of up to RM2,000 or both, upon conviction.

Meanwhile, Haresh said the case was not over yet as another suspect remained at large and the investigation was ongoing.

“I will leave it to the police. If they call me again after the other suspect is arrested, I will cooperate,” he added.

Haresh, a senior journalist and co-founder of the Twentytwo13 news website, previously rejected claims by the police that the attack was motivated by a “personal issue”.

Friday, January 16, 2026

Cocky Aussie “HRD” gets humbled

Jan 16: How a disgraced former lecturer like Murray Hunter got elevated to the status of human rights defender beats me. But that was the title bestowed on the Australian living in Hatyai by a motley group led by Aliran to try and help Hunter out of a legal mess he had brought upon himself. 

Fortunately, Siamese law does not give a hoot about whether you’re called an HRD or you’re white. If you’re based in Thailand and you think it is safe to defame someone or something in Malaysia, you’re wrong. 

Hunter knows this now (I had told him so in several postings on this blog but he was too cocky to listen). And so, after all his bravado about counter-suing the MCMC and challenging the system that neighbouring countries like Malaysia and Thailand have put in place to safeguard their interest and uphold their laws, Hunter wasted little time to get down on his knees (figuratively, of course) and go on record to say sorry to the MCMC, its chief commissioner Tan Sri Mohamed Salim Fatih Din, and a whole lot of people he had mentioned or slandered in the articles which he had to attach below. 

Hunter has never had much good to write about Malaysia. Those he badmouthed in the four articles below included Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim and the Malaysian media (something to note for the new Malaysian Media Council). 

There are other articles on Malaysia, the government, the Bumi policies, and even the Royalty that he had written which convinced me he is not just obsessed with this country, he may have an axe to grind, too.

In any case, Hunter is yet another reminder that we who write on blogs, the Internet, social media do not exist in a vacuum. We are governed by laws and regulations, just like the journalists in the mainstream media are, and the onus is on us to ensure that we don’t cross the line. 

Be humble, be fair.

Below is the public apology that Murray Hunter had to issue on Jan 13 to escape a total of 8 years in Thai prison and USD25k fine for defaming MCMC and Salim.

MCMC and I have discussed and reached an understanding via a Settlement Agreement. I acknowledge that my comments and articles about MCMC and its related persons can be read to be inaccurate, misleading and have led to misunderstandings. I therefore apologise and regret if such actions caused any damage to MCMC and/or related persons, and I hereby fully retract all such comments and articles in their entirety. The list of the said comments and articles in Schedule 2 and Schedule 3 of the Settlement Agreement with MCMC is attached herein.

SCHEDULE 2
MALAYSIAN CIVIL ACTION – ARTICLES / PUBLICATIONS
(High Court of Malaya Suit No. BA-23NCvC-61-11/2024)
A. Platforms

The following publications were authored and published by Murray Hunter via: a. murrayhunter.substack.com (“Substack”);

b. eurasiareview.com (“Eurasia”);

c. X (formerly Twitter) including but not limited to @DalastKimbasabi (“X ProUile”) B. April 2024 Publications

i. 7 April 2024

“Why Tan Sri Mohamed Salim Fateh Din must step down as chairman of the MCMC – Holders of public ofPice shouldn’t have any conPlicts of interest”

Platform: Substack

ii. 25 April 2024

“MCMC is out of control – MCMC raiding homes of citizens”

iii. 29 April 2024

“Chegubard’s arrest and charging is a warning to all Malaysians”

iv. 30 April 2024

“Press Statement: MCMC’s police report against writer Murray Hunter is high handed and has a chilling effect on freedom of speech”

C. August 2024 Publication

i. 7 August 2024

“IMAP Report: Continued blocking of Murray Hunter Substack by MCMC”

D. September 2024 Publication

i. 8 September 2024

“Adventures in Noddyland: Teresa Kok police investigation – Blatant disrespect by Anwar towards his coalition partner the DAP”

E. October 2024 Publications

i. 2 October 2024

“First anniversary of continuous blocking by the MCMC – It’s all an attempt to cover up dirty business dealings”

ii. 4 October 2024

“Anwar’s reforms: setting Malaysia back on the right path”

iii. 5 October 2024

“The Death of Journalism in Malaysia – Shrinking and Fragmented Industry Challenged by New Regime of Censorship”

iv. 7 October 2024

“Most of the mainstream media no longer carry any balanced view of Malaysian current affairs – MCMC blacklist in operation”

v. 17 October 2024

More evidence the MCMC is protecting Crony business interest – The current management of the MCMC don’t want corporate crony corruption exposed to the public”

vi. 7 November 2024

“Malaysia needs an Elon Musk”

vii. 11 November 2024

“HOW THE MCMC HAS BECOME THE Most Powerful Government Agency In Malaysia – Analysis”

Platform: Eurasia

SCHEDULE 3
THAILAND CRIMINAL ACTION – ARTICLES / PUBLICATIONS
(Royal Thai Police, Yan Nawa Police Station, Daily Report dated 21 June 2024) A. Platforms
All postings were published by Murray Hunter on murrayhunter.substack.comB. April 2024 Publications

i. 13 April 2024

“The 3Rs Are an Instrument of Tyranny for Malaysia”

ii. 19 April 2024

“MCMC Ordered by The High Court to Produce Police Instructions to Block Weechookeong.Com”

iii. 25 April 2024

“MCMC Is Out of Control”

iv. 29 April 2024

“Chegubard’s Arrest and Charging Is a Warning to All Malaysians”